Mike Oldfield: Brand New Studio Album Next Year


According to Prog Magazine, Mike Oldfield will release his brand new album, his first of original material since 2008, on January 27, 2014. „Man On The Rocks“ is a deeply personal song-based album that reflects many of Mike’s different influences. Recorded in the Bahamas, Oldfield’s 25th studio album has been produced by Mike with legendary British producer Stephen Lipson (Jeff Beck, Paul McCartney, Producers).


The full tracklisting is: „Sailing“, „Moonshine“, „Man On The Rocks“, „Castaway“, „Minutes“, „Dreaming In The Wind“, „Nuclear“, „Chariots“, „Following The Angels“, „Irene“ and „I Give Myself Away“.

“It has been a pleasure making Man On The Rocks with such a dedicated team of performers,” says Oldfield. “For a long period, I felt that I wasn’t going to record any new music again. But, after the elation of the Olympics and the explorations of my catalogue, I felt the time was right to return with this, one of my favourite albums to date.”

„Man On The Rocks“ features legendary bassist Leland Sklar (Phil Collins, Crosby, Stills & Nash, James Taylor) and drummer John Robinson (Michael Jackson, Eric Clapton, Daft Punk). Joining on vocals for this album is Luke Spiller from young UK band The Struts.

The album features some of Oldfield’s most direct, guitar driven music for some while on tracks like Irene and the title track, but also diversifies into folk on Dreaming In The Wind and covers William McDowell’s gospel song I Give Myself Away.


Share this Post



Susiję įrašai


0 Komentarai

Galite būti pirmuoju pakomentavusiu.


Parašykite komentarą